The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue - V. E. Schwab

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

By V. E. Schwab

  • Release Date: 2020-10-06
  • Genre: Historical Fantasy
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 4,800 Ratings

Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
USA TODAY BESTSELLER
NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER
THE WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER

Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, NPR, Slate, and Oprah Magazine
#1 Library Reads PickOctober 2020
#1 Indie Next PickOctober 2020
BOOK OF THE YEAR (2020) FINALISTBook of The Month Club

A “Best Of” Book From: Oprah Mag * CNN * Amazon * Amazon Editors * NPR * Goodreads * Bustle * PopSugar * BuzzFeed * Barnes & Noble * Kirkus Reviews * Lambda Literary * Nerdette * The Nerd Daily * Polygon * Library Reads * io9 * Smart Bitches Trashy Books * LiteraryHub * Medium * BookBub * The Mary Sue * Chicago Tribune * NY Daily News * SyFy Wire * Powells.com * Bookish * Book Riot * Library Reads Voter Favorite *

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.


France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

Also by V. E. Schwab

Shades of Magic
A Darker Shade of Magic
A Gathering of Shadows
A Conjuring of Light


Villains
Vicious
Vengeful


At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Reviews

  • The Invisible Life Of Addie LaRue

    5
    By BJA62
    I loved this story. It’s one of those books that takes you out of yourself and into each time and place. I rooted for Addie, I rooted for Luc. It was great.
  • Addie

    4
    By jewelslunds
    Loved this book. There were some twists and many surprises. Just as real feeling as fiction can be.
  • Totally recommend

    5
    By Baria bea
    I LOVE this book it is so good you can go through 300 years of fun, tears, love and truth with one person. Soooo good I think this is my new favorite book
  • A solid 4 star

    4
    By Mrsghetti
    This book was slow getting started. I felt like the author spent a lot of time setting up the story. But I loved the last half of the book. The author definitely has a way with words and the story kept me enchanted.
  • WOW

    5
    By 312reads
    I laughed. I cried. I loved. Just.. Wow. I think that’s the best book I’ve ever read.
  • 3 stars / unpopular opinion

    3
    By KThugs3
    I’m irritated that Goodreads always shuts down the app whenever I am doing a long review for a book. So for now, I’ll keep it to the point. I give this book 3.5 to 3.75 stars. I would have given it 4, because by the end of the book, I was smitten and I did love all the characters, even the villain of the story. However, it’s not getting 4 stars only because I almost gave up reading the book. I just wasn’t that pulled into the novel until the last 100 pages. If I had put the book down before that, I still wouldn’t have even been able to give it too low of a score because it is written in such a way I can envision all of the characters and the scenery and even the difficult parts to pull off, like when it was time for Luc to take his souls - I was able to imagine the entire thing. Anyways, because it took me about 320 pages to get into the book, I can’t give it a solid 4 stars. However, by the end I was leaning towards a higher score. I have two more of her books in my pile of unread books thus far. Not sure if I’m excited to start the other ones, or feeling a bit of worry that I might not be entranced on that interested until the final act. I will say - I did love the villain by the end. And I think that because the author was exploring that character arc/development a bit more, I found the book more entertaining and interested at that point. Until then, even Henry was pretty forgettable, similar to the first few lovers that Addie had.
  • good premise boring execution

    3
    By tryhank
    The author writes well. A few of her lines read like poetry. And I understand the choice of a third person limited, present tense perspective. But it reads all the more hollow for it. Even as it’s likely supposed to, it feels like a cop-out. Don’t get me wrong, the author is certainly clever. But the story remains flat and weak.
  • Just ok

    3
    By Melblevs
    All in all a good book. I feel like so many chunks could have been left out. It felt like it dragged at times. I don’t typically read fantasy but I would recommend this book to a friend. 3.5/5 stars. This is one of those times that I think a movie portrayal would be awesome. I think I could see the movie being 5 stars.
  • Fantastic!

    5
    By Spirits.ofnature
    I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was well written and the story kept me captivated. I would recommend.
  • The invisible life of Addie large

    5
    By hcclc
    Excellent.

Comments